Jack’s Brain-Power Pancakes

Processed with VSCO with preset

Today we have a wonderful contribution by Jack Stewart (@daddyhomeschools on instagram). Jack is a single father of three lovely children. He is pretty well-known within the home-ed community of micro-blogging. I love his thought provoking posts on reading aloud. I also enjoy watching his videos of playing with his children. He is one of those rare fathers of modern parenting that doesn’t feel embarrassed looking absolutely silly in public and is proudly child-like in play.

I also love today’s recipe of his pancake. What kid doesn’t like pancakes? And if there is a way to make them healthier, I am all game for it. I did add a dash of baking powder, a lot of blueberries and some maple syrup in my recipe but ofcourse, they were good as it is to begin with.

These pancakes are perfect for travel. I had a 4 hour drive ahead of us and so I made them the night before, quickly warmed them up in the morning and packed them in a lunch box for the road. They kept us all nicely full.

Here is what he has to say….

I used to give the kids sandwiches and they would pick out the insides and stick to the endless empty carbs of bread. I wanted a form of bread that I could throw in the kids’ bags, but also had some real nutrition. This recipe has the allure of the pancake but plenty of plant-based brain-fuel to keep me and my little carb-friends happy. 

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups Wholemeal Flour
  • 1/4 cup Raisins
  • 1 tbs Peanut butter (we added almond butter)
  • 2 tsp Salt
  • 1 tsp Golden linseeds
  • 2 tsp Chia seeds
  • 2 tbsp Dessicated coconut
  • 3 cups Almond milk
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup (optional)
  • Handful of Blueberries (optional)
  • 1tsp Baking powder (optional)

Method

Mix together and fry like pancakes in coconut oil.

I hope you like the recipe. Let us know by commenting below. Please do not forget to like, comment and share it on instagram. If you cook the above recipe or anything plant-based, please tag us by using the hashtag #plateplantplanet, so we can keep track of your contribution.

Published by Sushi

Wildberries and fables is created to share tit bits about our multicultural lifestyle that includes intuitive parenting, plant based recipes, celebrations and rituals and stories from our home schooling journey.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started